Video and Image Processing Cup

Topic : Real-time vehicle detection and tracking at junction using a fisheye camera

Competition Date : Sunday, 25 October, 202014:00  – 16:00

The IEEE SPS Video and Image Processing Cup (VIP Cup) student competition, presented by the IEEE Signal Processing Society, gives students the opportunity to work together to solve real-life problems using video and image processing methods. After students submit their work, three final teams are selected to present their work and compete for the grand prize at ICIP 2020.

Interested in competing? The submission deadline is September 10, 2020.  For full competition details, eligibility requirements, and team registration, visit the IEEE Signal Processing Society website.


  • Enes Yüncü, ISSD (
  • Mohd. Alhaddad, ISSD (
  • Betul Karaman, ISSD (
  • Selin Ece Böncü, Middle East Technical University (

Important Dates

  • 30 June 2020: Initial Training Dataset released
  • 30 July 2020: Test Dataset 1 released
  • 10 September 2020: Submission deadline
  • 15 October 2020: Finalists (best three teams) announced
  • 25 October 2020 ,14:00 – 16:00 : Competition on Test Dataset 2 virtually at ICIP 2020

Eligibility Criteria

Each team must be composed of one faculty member (the Supervisor), at most one graduate student (the Tutor), at least three but no more than ten undergraduate students (the Team Members) (at least three of the team members must be either IEEE Signal Processing Society (SPS) members or SPS student members).

 Team Prizes

  • The champion: USD 5000
  • The first runner-up: USD 2500
  • The second runner-up: USD 1500


Team Name: BUET Synapticans
University: Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology
Supervisor: Taufiq Hasan
Students: Uday Kamal, Partho Ghosh, Nayeeb Rashid, Ahsan Habib Akash, Md. Abrar Istiak, Swapnil Saha, Mir Sayeed Mohammad


1st runner up:

Team Name: Multi-layer Perceptron
University: Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology
Supervisor: Shaikh Anowarul Fattah
Students: Md Awsafur Rahman, Bishmoy Paul, Tasnim Nishat Islam, Tanvir Mahmud, Md. Jahin Alam, Muhammad Zubair Hasan, Maisoon Rahman, Md Shariar Azad, Najibul Haque Sarker, Tanvir Anjum, Barproda Halder

2nd runner up:

Team Name: Team Zodiac
University: Bangladesh University of Engineering and Technology
Supervisor: Mohammad Ariful Haque
Students: Himaddri Roy, Shafin Bin Hamid, Munshi Sanowar Raihan, Prasun Datta, Ashiqur Rasul